Attitude of Gratitude

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog post.  Quite a while actually!  I sit down and journal from time to time, but life gets so busy that there’s just no time for editing my thoughts to be able to “comfortably” put them out there for others to see.  Today is different though.  I am approaching this day with an “attitude of gratitude” and have a few minutes to write.

I recently took another trip out to Georgia/Florida to see Mamá, my grandmother, as well as my mother.  So much took place during the trip that I need A LOT of time to get my thoughts together on it. Like my mother getting married for the first time in a church…at 66!  Looking back today, I feel a great sense of gratitude and would like to share.

Mamá is 87 years old.  She will be 88 in November.  She was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease in 2012.  There’s so much I could say about this wonderful woman, but I will keep this “short” and focus on this past week.  She is beginning to forget those things that have happened in the last year or so, but for the most part, she is still herself.  She is now living in a nursing home as she needs to be “watched” around the clock since one never knows when those “moments” are going to happen.  She is not entirely thrilled about being in a home, in fact…she dislikes parts of it greatly.  However, when she’s thinking like herself, she chooses to make the best of it.  She is always one to help others.  I’ve been told that she tries to “take care of” some of the other patients.  She always has a smile for anyone who walks in her room or anyone she passes in the hallway.  She thanked the man with one gray eye and hunched over little back (who seemed to make the front entryway his afternoon sitting place).  He would open the door for us and she would give him that big smile and thank him, even though others who come in can’t seem to be able to look him in the eye.  She shares what little bit she has with others.  And she just teaches me so much each time I am able to be with her.  She didn’t like the nursing home in the beginning, and still doesn’t like aspects of it, but she has taken an “attitude of gratitude” and I do believe that has made all the difference.

There have been days when I have not been focused on how much I actually have to be thankful for.  But I really do have much, and so do you.  I woke up this morning, stretched and was able to get out of bed on my own.  Some in the nursing home couldn’t do that.  I have a kitchen and  a coffee maker and had hot coffee…Mmmm.  That’s one thing Mamá misses because they “always” bring her cold coffee.  But she just asks politely if they can bring it hot next time.  And I’ll be able to make my own lunch soon.  How about you?  Do you kind of get to choose what you eat?  Others don’t have that luxury.  I can leave my home when I want.  I have a place to call home.  I have a vehicle.  I have the use of my hands and can type away if I want.  Arthritis is keeping Mamá from writing, sewing, doing crosswords, all things she enjoyed doing. Instead she may sing a song, an old hymn she enjoys.

Maybe if I start my day realizing just how much I really have to be grateful for, it might just make a difference in how I approach each new day.  I think I will approach this new day with a smile.  🙂  How about you?

This is Mamá, my mother, and me.  Three generations.  :-)

This is Mamá, my mother, and me. Three generations enjoying some time together. 🙂  I love these ladies.  ❤

3 thoughts on “Attitude of Gratitude

Leave a Reply

