Valentine’s Day…hate it or love it?

Today’s Valentine’s Day, “El día del Amor y la Amistad” (Day of Love and Friendship in many Hispanic countries), and as I scrolled through my Facebook newsfeed I found two opinions of this day.  Some folks expressed love of this day and others expressed hatred.

The ones who hate this day spoke of feeling alone or how pointless this day is because if you “really” love someone you’ll tell them all year long.  Others expressed love to the “special someone” in their lives and they are of course “in a relationship” or they’re married.

But…I do have friends who are widowed, divorced, or never married and they are wishing everyone a blessed and happy Valentine’s Day.  Why are they different from the ones who dislike this day so much?  I think it’s their perspective.  Some are posting photos of parents, siblings, children, friends, scriptures that speak of God’s love for us, etc.   Their focus is not on what they don’t have or want, but on the blessings of the relationships they do have in their lives.  That is supposed to be the point of this day.

I wrote the post in the link below a few ago.  Read it and then go show some love to the people in your lives.  🙂

https://sarahsmilesat.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/el-dia-del-amor-y-la-amistad-aka-love-and-friendship-day/

A few of the cards I made for some ladies in my life. <3

A few of the cards I made for some ladies in my life. ❤

Leave a Reply

